The longest day ever.
written on Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003 at 1:12 AM

You ever notice how when you have a really shitty day, you don't ever really think you're going to have a shitty day. It's like, you wake up and you're like, "Okay, this is what I'm going to have to do today. It won't be that bad." Then, your day turns out to be like mine.

I was happy when I left for work. Yeah, I had 8 hours of drunks ahead of me, but whatever. Been there, done that. And I was working with Tisha. I like working with Tisha. I got to work, and we ordered KFC and it all went downhill from there.

First of all, I annoyed my boss by eating and not working. Then, I had a big list of shit that I had to do and I did half of it and was exhausted. So, I went back up to the counter to sit down and relax by waiting on some customers.

A few minutes later, this one guy that Tisha has had a few problems with walked in. She had carded him before, and he didn't have his ID, so she told him she wasn't going to sell to him without his ID, even though T.T. later said she knew he was like 22 or something. But he copped a big fucking attitude about it, because you know we card people just to be annoying. Well, the kid walks in and goes straight up to the counter where we were sitting.

"Is it even worth me going to get the beer? Are you going to sell to me?" he asks.

"Do you have your ID?" Tisha asked.

"No."

"Then, no. I can't sell to you."

So, he stalks off. Kristen was standing by the lotto machine and he walked by saying something like, "Yeah, she's just a bitch anyway." Kristen looks at him and (surprisingly) calmly tells him, "You don't have to call her a bitch. She's just doing her job."

At this moment, Tisha's boyfriend, Tim, who has quite a temper on him, walked in the door. "Who'd he call a bitch?" Kristen told him and Timmy whipped around.

"You called my old lady a bitch?" This was followed by a verbal bashing to the asshole. It was quite a scene. If Tisha hadn't gone out there and brought him back inside, I could totally see Timmy going ape shit on the guy.

We laughed about this for awhile, then Kristen left. Tisha and I were sitting again when a customer walked up to the counter. "Where's your milk at?" I looked at him, pointing him in the direction of the cooler and he started walking off.

But Tisha had other plans. She was annoyed at him for not even bothering to look for the milk and so she comes out with, "It's in the corner. In the cooler, you know?"

The man does an about face, stares right at me and says, "I know it's in the cooler. There's no need to get smart mouthed." It wasn't until after I went to the bathroom and he was completely nice to Tisha that I realized: The bastard thought it was me who said it. I got lectured for Tisha being a smart ass. And she's my boss!

Then the horrible fish smell came back. For the past month or so, there's been this horrible fish smell eminating from somewhere around our ice cream coolers. It comes and goes. And today, it came back with a vengence. We lit candles, we sprayed Country Apple spray... nothing did any good.

So, I was sitting up on the step ladder, trying not to gag, when I noticed some smoke. We smoke in the store, so this was not a big deal... until I realized the smoke was coming from the outlet that the ice cream cooler is plugged into. So I jump up, and I'm like, "Uh. Tisha, come here. Come here quick. The plug is smoking." And I carefully pulled out two of the things plugged into the outlet (it had 4 spaces on it). It was still smoking. So Tisha unplugged one more and it sparked when came out. The ice cream cooler was officially fucked. The good part is, that was where the horrible fish smell was coming from, so it's gone now.

But, I got to spend the next 20 minutes moving all the shit from that cooler into the one next to it. The one that was already full of more ice cream.

Then the whore came in. Honestly, this woman propostitoned (I'm probably not spelling that right) a guy that works next door to us. And she came in with her pimp. It was quite funny.

Then I stocked some more shit. Then I made some more six packs. Then I carried some more heavy shit. Then Sarah called. I had told her yesterday that if she wanted to hang out, she should call me at work. And then I forgot about it. So after work, I had to go to Sarah's. Not that it wasn't fun, but still. When you get it into your mind that you're going home in an hour and a half, you want to go home in an hour and a half. It was good to see her, however.

And thus ended the longest day in history.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land