Naivity
written on 2001-02-20 at 09:50:02

********************************

Here-Hold My Hand by Mari Evans

Here

hold my hand

let me touch you

there is

nothing

we can

say...your

soul

eludes me

when I reach

out

your eyes

resent

my need to know

you

Here

hold my hand

since

there is nothing

we can

say

********************************

In tenth grade, we had to analyze a poem which got to pick ourselves. I was crazy and in love so I picked this one, failing to realize the true meaning of the poem. I thought it was like the Depeche Mode song "Enjoy the Silence". You know, be quiet because anything you can say will only ruin this perfect moment.

Then, the person I was in love with fell out of love with me. I fell into a deep depression under which I still suffer. My poem was placed away with all my old school things.

Then one day, I brought it out. And I read the poem again and it brought tears to my eyes. I reread the way I had analyzed the poem and it brought even more tears to my eyes. I really and truly thought this was a love poem. I was so blinded by love that I couldn't even see the truth behind it.

"Your soul eludes me when I reach out, your eyes resent my need to know." The poem isn't about a blossoming love. It's about a love that's ending. Two people who are caught between the fact that they no longer can be together and that they still love each other.

"Your soul eludes me when I reach out..." David's soul did that. Towards the end of our relationship, it was impossible for me to know him. This was a man that could level me with his gaze at one point, and now, I didn't even know him.

Naive and blind. That's what I was. I thought I knew everything there was to know about love, and I knew a lot. But I didn't realize how much pain and suffering it could cause.

"Here, hold my hand, since there is nothing we can say." A last chance with your love. The last single thing that connects you to him. Physical touch. "...there is nothing we can say."

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land