Mother/daughter/dysfunctional
written on 2001-03-26 at 01:09 p.m.

I printed out what I wrote last night and I gave it to her.

I stormed into her room and I said, "Fuck you. Don't you ever even pretend to think you know what's best for me." Then I threw the paper at her and slammed her door, leaving her in bewilderment.

Did it hit home for her? Probably not. This morning I apologized and all she said was that it was okay... in that same condescending, I'm-better-than-you tone that led me to write it.

Was it all true? Yes. Should I have written it that harshly? No. Do I regrett it? No. I wish it had had more of an impact on her. But now I see she's just a lost cause. If she doesn't think it's right, it's not. So no matter what I think, she's right and I'm wrong, so why bother to say things to her anymore.

At some point during the last year, I'd hoped we could arrange some sort of functional mother/daughter relationship out of all of this, but now I see that's impossible. Our relationship will remain the same until the day one of us dies.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land