A Deeper Smile
written on 2001-03-29 at 4:47 a.m.

A Deeper Smile

*************************************

Dear X.

Yes, I'm fine.

Surprise, I'm alive without you.

I actually smiled today.

And I meant it, in case you wondered.

I smile differently now.

My mouth opens wide and my teeth show.

This reveals a deeper smile.

Because when I laugh, I'm happy,

In a way I never was with you.

I'm happy being happy.

And I know that it probably won't last.

I never let myself go like that,

When I was with you.

I always took for granted,

That there'd be happier times ahead.

So I smiled from the outside,

Instead of smiling from within,

Like I should've,

But could never bring myself to do.

Surprise, you weren't the end of me.

You were just the end of that part of me.

The part that smiled from the outside.

Instead of smiling from within.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land