Cynism in the home.
written on 2001-04-06 at 12:34 a.m.

Kill me if I grow up to be as cynical as my mother.

Today, I was sitting there flipping channels and I passed be the show 7th Heaven, just as the dad guy was giving a sermon about how really for the most part, "everyone's just trying to do their best out there." My mom snorts a laugh and says, "That guy sure doesn't know what he's talking about." Like, suddenly, if someone has an opinion about something she doesn't believe in, they're talking out of their ass. Well, Mom, I think YOU'RE talking out of your ass.

Can't she just let some things go? Can't she just accept the fact that her Darwin-based opinions might just be wrong? Can she just let people believe in God and be happy with their lives? Can't she just let it be?

Even if I am wrong about my beliefs, so what? I find comfort in them and I think I'm happier in life believing in God. I'm sorry she's got such a big log up her ass, but that doesn't give her the right to rain on my parade.

Yeah, I'm extremely idiosyncratic, which is something I didn't get from either of my parents. But at least my dad can accept my opinions and not make me feel like shit for having them. My mom can't do that. I'm wrong because I go on what I feel, not on what logic tells HER is right. Logic tells me I should go with what my instinct tells me and it tells me there's something out there that isn't entirely explainable by science. I don't throw her beliefs in her face. But she does with me. Just another reason why I have problems being around her sometimes.

And I swear to GOD that if she ebays another one of my things without asking me, I'm going to demand she pays for my driver's ed. Period.

Other than that, nothing's going on. I got together a bunch of pictures of me and sent them to Chris so next time I see him, I'm torching the one he has in his wallet. Taking a fucking lighter to it. I said I would and my word is my word.

I'm feeling pretty restless with my lifestyle lately. I haven't talked to any of my friends in days. Tomorrow is Friday, and I'm gonna convince Vicki to hang out with me, mono or no mono.

That's it for now, kids.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land