Looking forward to Senior year.
written on 2001-06-12 at 2:39 p.m.

She just left. She took my books and told me to have a good summer. She collected my American Lit final and all the work I finally got around to doing. (See, there you go, Gretchen, I told you I did it.) Motivation struck at the 11th hour. I read Hawthorne until my eyes almost fell out of my head, then I read Dickinson. Actually, I only read a few Dickinson poems, but who cares? The point is, it's OVER!! Summer can begin because I'm going to graduate next year!

I'm so happy that this ordeal is finally over. I'm finished feeling inadequate and guilty. I'm finished feeling sickly and tired. I'm finished feeling depressed and lonely. That entire part of my life, from last August up until now, is finished. I will never have to see Dave again. Never. I will never have to walk through the halls as an underclassman again (until I get to college, at least). I will take advantage of next year and make up for all the teenage rebellion that I missed this year.

Junior year is over and I have survived. I will graduate on time. I will take my slacker classes taught by Web, Mr. Hill, and Mrs. Novicki. I will take art. I will take gym. I will take Newspaper. I will take Newspaper Production, the biggest slacker class of them all.

Oh! Last year, Ms. Kallas picked the editors at the end of the previous year. That's how Katie and Cristen got the job. This year, however, she's waiting until next year to pick the job. This leads me to believe she wants me to be the editor. She said she's going to wait to see who applies. But I look at it this way. I was assignment editor this year. That's pretty much second in command, or in my case, third in command because of the co-editors. I'm the only one on the paper next year who has any editor experience, from my spot as the Musing's editor. I'm the only one who really wants the job. I was talking to Eric and he said everyone wants me to be editor. I don't know if he was telling the truth, but it's a good sign, because at least he wants me to be editor. I really hope I get the job. This is what I've been waiting my entire high school career for. This is the goal I've been striving to achieve.

Man, it feels great to be looking forward to my Senior year. Especially after I was so convinced I wouldn't have one. I made myself believe I didn't need a Senior year, that I could be completely happy dropping out and going to community college. But really, when you spend your entire school career looking forward to one year, it's not that easy to give it up. And now I get it back. I'm going to have a Senior year. And it'll be the Senior year to end all Senior years.

"If you wanna make the move then you better come in..." Time Bomb by Rancid.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land