Rancid childhood.
written on 2001-07-17 at 10:50 p.m.

I brought out ...And Out Come the Wolves today and Vicki and I listened to it in her car. I like that album. It reminds me of being 14. Much like the conversation with Sarah last night did.

I'm thinking about resurrecting the R.S. Chronicles. Maybe write one with the boys from Rancid in it again. I'll have to find the first one that I wrote, that foretold a non-existent future. It's kind of funny how much of a let-down it was when I got to the age of 17 and wasn't signed to Hellcat and wasn't playing on the Warped Tour with them. It would've been this year, too, that we would've been on the Warped Tour. Playing with Rancid and hanging out with Lars, Timmy, Matty, and Little Brett. If I do write another story, I'll have to put The Distillers in it. Hmmm. The wheels in my head are turning.

But for now, I'm listening to Life Won't Wait. The same moniker that is written on my back. Good album, great title. I remember seeing Rancid play in October 1998 and it seemed like nothing was ever going to top that moment in my life. It took a long time for me to realize that Life really Won't Wait, but I think I'm getting there. No time to dawdle, no time to pretend. Life is short and then you die. And you've got to take advantage of every chance you get, instead of waiting for other people to do shit for you. "First thing you learn, you gotta make it in this world alone."

You know, looking back on it, I liked being 14. I wish I could go back in time and tell myself how cool life was at 14. I had four years ahead of me and there's nothing better than the promise of time. Time is like a blank canvas. You can do anything you want to in four years. And looking back, I don't know why it took me three of those four years to realize that.

So, the first person to invent a time machine is going to have a lot of business from me.

"When you look back, it's just a flicker of time."

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land