Ahh, at last.
written on 2001-07-19 at 12:21 a.m.

I talked to Sarah on the phone for like two hours tonight. It's kind of funny how much she's changed and I've stayed in it. The punk thing still runs through my veins and she's gone all emo on me. But that's cool, because deep down inside, we're still the same two rejects that make fun of all the other kids.

Emo kids have feelings too. They just make a big deal about them and whine a lot. But Sarah, man, she hates Dave too and so that's cool.

Dave changed and Megan changed and Sarah, boy did she change. She's not even into Rancid all that much anymore. She said she doesn't know if she wants to go to the Warped Tour because all she'd go for is AFI and H2O and all I kept thinking was, "Dude, Rancid is gonna be there! You know, Timmy? Larsy? Matty? And Little Brett?" But she wasn't all that into it.

Whatever. People change and that's life. Hell, I changed. I actually became the kid I wanted everyone to think I was. It's not as great as I thought it would be, but it's better than I was. And I'm happy. I'm good. And life is working out to my advantage lately.

Sarah and I talked about everything, but mostly music. That's what kept us friends for three years and that's what we ended up talking about tonight. She doesn't like Avail, she doesn't like DKM as much as she did, and she doesn't like The Bouncing Souls as much as she did. I always knew we were different, but I just didn't realize how different until tonight.

She's the well-off emo kid. I'm the poor punk kid. That's the way it always was and that's the way it'll always be. I'm glad for that consistency. It's comforting to know that we're finally coming into our own and we're not trying to be all these things that we're not. It's nice to know you've got something to hold onto.

I'm feel very comfortable in my own skin tonight. I've got Rancid playing Rejected and I'm thinking about my future. Finally, all my past conflicts are resolving themselves and I'm not holding it in anymore.

Sometimes it's better if you just let go.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land