The Life and Times of Stanley's Market.
written on 2001-08-21 at 10:25 p.m.

If I never get anything else out of working at Stanley's Market, at least I'll have stories to tell people for the rest of my life.

The Big Game is up to $62 million. Apparently, this entices the "lotto virgins" to come out of the woodwork because there are bunches of people asking for "that one that's up to $62 million? Yeah, I want five computer picks on that one." Actually, I was pretty lucky today. No one asked me how to play it. I guess they all figured it out when it got up to $300 million last year.

The Big Game is pretty simple to play. You pick five numbers and then you pick another "powerball" number. Easy, right? How hard is it to not get confused? Well, for people who have never played before, a.k.a. lotto virgins, pretty damn hard. My favorite customer of the day was the guy who came up and asked for "two dollars on that big balls game." Big balls game? Big balls game?!? Last time I checked, Stanley's Market was not a male brothel. But I'll check back later. Maybe Jack realized there's more money in the Big Balls Game.

There was also the guy who was an ass and probably drunk. He asked Tish if she knew the numbers from Saturday. "No, I don't," Tish replied as she printed up the results from Saturday's game. "Neither do I," the guy said. It was at this point that I stood up and said, "What a surprise," very sarcastically in his general direction as I walked toward the sink. What can I say? I got three hours sleep last night. I'm a bitch when I'm tired.

Oh, the life and times of Stanley's Market. Maybe I'll write a book when I'm old and sucessful. And married to Greg.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land