Moving out and I don't think I'll go to Warped this year.
written on 2002-08-06 at 9:54 a.m.

Hmm. And the life of Rachel continues on. I don't change a lot, but when I do, it's quite a change.

I want to go to the Burrito Place with Vicki again. I've been craving a Burrito Place burrito and I don't think it'll ever be the same with anyone other than her.

It's 12 days until we move out. I'm excited as all hell, but also stressed out, because as always, money is the issue.

Sarah's not around lately and I miss her rambling on Livejournal. I miss hearing her bitch about the Hot Topic crowd and how none of us ever updates. And I want to go bowling with her and Cory. I really do. She went to Florida and I think she came back today and so we'll have to do that sometime this week or something.

I felt like a big outcast at work yesterday. Usually, I'm perfectly fine with the fact that I'm not really like everyone else there, and that they tend to be caught up in the bullshit that reigns in high school, despite the fact that we all got out awhile ago. But yesterday, I just felt out of place, like they were better than me for caring about that bullshit, like that made them part of regular society and made me an offcast of some group that could never have me. And it sucked. Because I'm usually very proud to be the offcast. Yesterday, however, it just didn't seem right.

Warped Tour's coming up. I'm not too excited. The few bands that are there that I want to see aren't too great and the fact that New Found Glory is going to be there and it's a very good possibility that I'll run into many people I don't particularly care for kind of offsets the limited pros that the show holds. Plus, since money is such a big issue and tickets cost $35 and some change, it seems like a big waste to go to the show. Even though Bad Religion (complete with Brett Gurewitz) and NUFAN are going to be there.

On the other hand, the Souls are coming back to Detroit. WITH ANTI-FLAG! Can you believe it? One of my all-time favorite bands paired with the band I've been trying to get around to seeing again for the last three years. So, it'll be my fifth time seeing the Souls and my second time seeing A-F. Sadly (I think), I'm completely more excited about this show, which doesn't happen until September 20, than I am about the Warped Tour, which is like two weeks away.

Which begs the question: should you carry on a tradition you don't enjoy anymore, solely for the sake of carrying on the tradition? I've been to the Warped Tour for four years running, but I don't really feel like going this year. Especially now that it's a big crap fest, with emo bands playing the soundtrack. And it's in the Comerica Park parking lot, which is sure to bring in the maximum of loser high school kids, only going because they heard the New Found Glory song on the radio. Which is why I hated the Warped Tour so much last year.

Bah. I don't want to go. But I want to see Bad Religion and NUFAN. But I want to move out and have time to set up a liveable place. And I don't want to blow $70 on tickets to see like four bands play for 1/2 hour each. But I want to hang out with my friends. But I don't want to hang out with the loser high school kids (who I all of a sudden deem myself better than). But I want to carry on the tradition. But I don't want to go.

If there's this much conflict, then I probably just shouldn't go. Especially considering that it's just a fucking show and I'm probably just inventing this conflict to have something to bitch about.

Sarah had the right idea last year. Don't go if there's no bands you want to see.

Even though I want to see Bad Religion and NUFAN.

Anyway, that's it right now.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land