Punk Rawk Diary
written on 2001-04-26 at 12:31 a.m.

It's kind of funny because no matter how many shows I go to, I still get that nervous-excited feeling in my stomach before I go. I have that now, knowing that in less than 18 hours, I will be at Clutch Cargo's, waiting in line to see DKM, Lars, and Reach the Sky.

It all brings me back to the first Rancid show I went to, at Clutch Cargo's, which was the first real show I went to. I don't count Warped Tour '98, because of the shit that went down there, in addition to the fact that the only reason I went was because it was something to do. So, I went to Rancid in October 1998 and I remember standing in line, completely blown away with everything that was there. I looked at the buses and thought, Oh my God! That's Rancid's bus. That's where they drive from city to city. And then I saw Tim getting off the bus and going into Clutch Cargo's and I was so freaked out that I just stared. It was insanity. But that's okay, because I'm insane.

So, tomorrow, I go. I think I'm as equally excited for my sister, because I'm hoping that this show will shed some light on how I feel about the music. I hope she feels the same intensity, the same connection I do. If not, I hope she at least gets some "battle wounds" in the mosh pit. When she saw Green Day at last year's Warped Tour, she walked around for days showing people the bruises she got, which was exactly what I did after that first Warped Tour. "Hey guys, look at this! That was from when that guy elbowed me in the mosh pit." I was so proud of those bruises and cuts, like it validated me in some weird way.

I don't see how Vicki doesn't feel the same way about music as I do. She goes to a show and is just like, "Yeah, this is cool." Cool? No, this is better than sex. This is the epitomy of earth-shattering coolness. But she just doesn't see it that way. I guess that's her though.

She's going to MXPX next month and she doesn't have anyone to go with. I told her that if she can't find anyone to go with, I'd go. I don't even like MXPX, but hey, at least I can go jump around and have some fun for a night.

Okay, that's it for the "Punk Rawk Diary" tonight.

"I dropped out of high school in Campbell, CA, got a guitar and I never looked back." Lars Frederiksen in "To Have or Have Not"

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land