Old Friend
written on 2001-05-17 at 12:55 a.m.

"Each friend represents a world in us, a world not possibly born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born." -Anais Nin

I've been in a very philosophical mood lately. I've been thinking about my friends and how important they are, and how bad of a friend I have been at times.

When I first started dating Dave, the world around me dissolved and he became everything. Not only is this unhealthy because no one should be everything, but also, I forgot a lot of the people in my life that are worth meaning everything.

I stopped hanging out with Vicki and Mel and Meg and all my other friends. If I could go back, I would have done it differently, but seeing as I can't, I can only voice my apology in the present.

I'm sorry for taking all my friendships for granted. I apologize for being a fair-weather friend of sorts. I'm sorry for not being there for you, but expecting you to be when I needed you.

Thank you for putting up with all the shit. Thank you for riding out the bad by my side. Thank you for sticking by my side when I didn't deserve it. Thank you for being there.

This one's for Vicki. Thank you for knowing I took a leave of sanity. Thank you for still being there to pick up the pieces. Thank you for putting up with my shit for months at a time. Thank you for not thinking I'm too much of a dork. Thanks for being there the last 7 years, because I don't think I could've made it without you.

"The time we spent hanging out is how we learned what life is about." Greg Attonito in "'87"

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land