Confuscious say: No tribal tattoos.
written on 2001-05-29 at 8:12 p.m.

I just read Unpunk's diary and she wrote that she wants a tattoo because she likes needles. All in good fun, I suppose.

But on Saturday, T.T. and Sara went to get tattoos. They got matching butterflies. Granted, they were pretty. But T.T. has a flower too. I don't see the point of getting something branded on your body just because it's pretty. I mean, I think that impulsively getting a tattoo of a butterfly is pretty psycho. And this is coming from me.

When I got my first tattoo, a lot of people were impressed. They were all like, "Yeah, that's really cool." That was just the icing on the cake, because I didn't get it for them. I got it for me. I'd been planning on getting the tattoo I got since the first day I heard Life Won't Wait by Rancid, two and a half years prior to actually getting the thing. I drew it out and kept ahold of the paper it was on for those two and a half years. And then, I had a mental breakdown and I knew it was time to get it. I needed to have something pull me out of the slump I was in, and in a way, that did it. For a few days anyway.

Then I went back to school and everybody was freaking out over it. And I was proud to show it off. This was the fruit of my labor. I'd worked to get the money. I'd begged my mom since I was 14 to let me get it. And finally, it all came together. And people liked it.

Then they all wanted to get it. Except it didn't mean as much to them. They got flowers, or tribal designs, or whatnot. I don't understand that. Why get something just because you think it looks cool? Do you remember french rolling your pants? The huge hairsprayed hair of the 80's? High tops with the tongues hanging out? M.C. Hammer genie pants? Vanilla Ice in general? There was a time when we all thought they were cool. Now, they're just funny. I don't think I want something permanently imprinted on my body that I thought "looked cool" when I was 17. The kids who got those tattoos because they thought they "looked cool" are gonna be the 35-year olds lining up to get them removed with laser surgery. I don't ever wanna take mine back. Life Won't Wait. As true as that is now, it'll still be that true when I'm 60.

LESSON OF THE DAY: Confuscious say: Don't get tribal tattoos just because you think they're cool. It'll cost you in later years.

Ha! That Confuscious. He's so witty.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land