Summer Soundtrack
written on 2001-05-31 at 12:01 a.m.

Rachel's Good Tip of the Day: Go buy the new Bouncing Souls album. You will be happy.

I've been listening to it for the past few days. And when I say I would love it, I was highly underestimating my feelings about this. And yes, it is indeed time for another lengthy entry dedicated to the Bouncing Souls.

When I first got it, I was a little disappointed. It's not your average Bouncing Souls album. There aren't any novelty songs like "Bullying the Jukebox" or "The BMX Song" on there. So I was just like, "Hey! This isn't a Souls album. It's all serious and stuff."

So a few days ago, I was sitting around and I thought, hey, I'll put it in and give it a listen. So I did and I was blown away. I actually listened to the words and there is nothing like this on the other Souls albums. Okay, there is, but this is way better.

Example: Gone. A song about how much music can save you. It talks about how a kid is all down and depressed and then he hears a song on the radio and it sticks with him. It's exactly the way the music affects me. "It was a darkness all my own. A song played on the radio, it went strait to my heart. I carried it with me until that darkness was gone."

Another Example: The Something Special. I was seriously almost in tears from this one. It's about a relationship that failed and after it was over, the guy realizes how much she meant to him. And he wants to give it another try. "Forget about the things I said. I make no excuse for them. I want to start again."

And my favorite: Manthem. Just your average song about hanging with your friends and knowing you'll be friends forever. "He's my friend, he's my alibi, my accessory to the crime. A bond that will never die, till the end of time."

The boys have done it again, only this time, they've done it better. Their next album better be like almost orgasmic, or else it won't measure up. This one rates up there with Let's Go. And that's the highest of recommendations from me.

I was reading an interview with Greg (my future husband) and he said this was their best yet. At first, I didn't agree. But now, it's not only their best, it's one of the best I've ever heard.

Three cheers for the Bouncing Souls today.

This album will be my summer soundtrack. Hanging out with Vicki and Mel while Mel is still here. Listening to the music that means so much to me. Thinking about my life. It's all there.

"The music shaped our lives, so tell me why our movement's out of time. Are we out of line?" That Song by the Souls.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land