..when everybody goes on without you.
written on 2001-07-02 at 10:56 p.m.

Times change, people change, and the way I feel about them changes too. I talked to Heather today. She's a cool chick. I like her a lot.

Back in 9th grade, she was one of my best friends. We hung out, skipped swimming in gym class, and held the same cynical attitude towards life. Then, we drifted apart and we run in different circles now.

But I called her and we talked for almost an hour. I think we changed the way we were and now we're even more alike than we were way back freshman year. Life is funny like that.

Then I talked to Megan Lynch. She's changed too. She doesn't talk to Sarah much anymore. In fact, she pretty much hangs out with Cassie and Jackie exclusively. We used to be so much alike. And now... we've moved in different directions. On the outside, it seems like we should be more alike than we are. But we're not. Time changes people in funny ways.

Back in freshman year, music was my life. Then it failed me and I felt betrayed. So I ditched it altogether. I stopped listening to punk music and stopped hanging out with that crowd in school. Then I realized that it's okay to have music be a part of your life, just as long as it doesn't run your life. Don't put all your eggs in one basket, you know? Not all the answers in life can be found on "Let's Go", you know? Sometimes you just gotta go with your intuition. And that's a happy medium.

Megan told me that Kahlia is going out with Pat now. Hmmm, good think I stopped liking him awhile ago. Even though I never really knew him anyway.

I don't know, man. Lately it's been hitting me that this is the last year of my childhood. In one capacity, I'm terrified. I don't want to be an adult. But on the other hand, I know that if I sit around, worrying about being an adult this whole time, I'll be an adult before I get to do any childish things.

I'm pretty happy with the way this summer has been going. Even if I don't finish everything on my list of goals, I'll be satisfied with everything that did happen. I still want to get my lip pierced, though.

NOTE TO SELF: Remember to call Stephanie.

"...all these friends, yeah, we were equals. But what ya gonna do when everybody goes on without you?" Journey to the End by Rancid

UPDATE: My sister just got home from Green Day. She stood and talked for half an hour about the little anecdotes that Billie Joe used onstage and all the little happenings in the crowd and whatnot. I just sat there and smiled. She finally realizes what I get out of shows. She finally knows why I love them so much... she's a true punk fan in the making. She's got the mohawk now. And in tribute to her, I'll end with a quote she said to my brother this morning.

"If guys can wear a dress, then I can have a mohawk." -my sister, Megan.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land