The Infamous Boiler Room BBQ at Woodhaven.
written on 2001-10-29 at 4:42 p.m.

THE GREAT LAWN PARTY OF 2001!

Today, in first hour, I was taking a test and struggling to recall what Greek sculpture had to do with humanism, when the lights started flickering. I look up, and around and notice that they're all flickering in the hallway too. We all sit in amazement for a few minutes until the fire alarm goes off. I grab my purse and go out onto the lawn of WHS.

We all stand around out there, trying to pry information out of teachers. This is was happened. An electrical fire broke out in the boiler room and caused the lights to go out and smoke to come billowing out into the rest of the school.

So we all stood around like it was a great get together. I have now named this The Great Lawn Party of 2001. What the hell school actually catches fire? Who the hell actually puts to use the knowledge they learned through 12 years of September morning fire drills? I'll tell you who. Woodhaven High School a.k.a. Hoodhaven. We're so ghetto that our school actually caught on fire. (I use the word "ghetto" more and more these days. I feel kind of dirty too. So I apologize if I overuse it.)

We laughed and joked and talked for about half an hour until they told us we could go home. Then Heather and me went out to Denny's and then to see Riding in Cars With Boys, which was pretty good, but not as good as I thought it was going to be. Then I came home and finished my Baby Think It Over project. By the way, little Gregory wasn't dead. He was just... well, okay, no one knows why he didn't cry, but he didn't register as dead. I just say that he was so impressed with my astounding parenting skills that he didn't want to ruin it by crying. I got a perfect score, by the way. I rock.

And that was the day of The Infamous Boiler Room BBQ at Woodhaven. Long live unexpected accidents where no one is injured and we still get to go home early.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land