My safehaven.
written on 2003-03-19 at 3:11 a.m.

I must admit, I kind of miss my old room. I love living here and being with him and it was really great tonight hanging out and watching a movie, because we haven't done that in so long. But I just miss my old room.

It all started back when I was 13. My brother got kicked out and my sister got his room. So we stopped sharing a room and I got my own place. And it was the first time in my life that I actually had my own place to go to and not have anyone bother me.

So when I hit 14, I started decorating it. I put up my poster of Rancid and I climbed on top of my dresser and sat for hours painting watercolor stars on my ceiling. I didn't get far, because I was on top of my dresser, but it was the point of it.

In years to come, I painted different song lyrics on my walls, like some kind of inspirational grafitti. I had:

"When I got the music, I got a place to go."

"Do the hands of time only rule this chapter?"

"Never forget your friends. We are with you til the end."

"You're possessed with a power bigger than the pain."

"I'm sick of not living to stay alive."

And many more, all written there, reminding me of the affect music has on life.

I also had a collage in ode to Lars Frederiksen. And a section dedicated to The Bouncing Souls. It was my room and it walking into it was pretty much knowing me. The floor was a mess, but the walls all said something.

Now, my room has nothing on the walls, except this ugly blotchy wallpaper. But I don't want to put anything on them. Besides the fact that it would murder any chance of getting our security deposit back, it'd be like trying to recreate spontanaity. It would only lead to disaster, and in the end, it could never be as good as the original.

I just miss the comfort that that room brought to me.

You were a good room. But I've moved on.

pay attention || let it slip by
� Now
� Then
� My Profile
� Email Me
� The Guestbook
� Design
� D-land